General info and facts on Indian Premier League - FaqLabs

Sunday, 1 October 2017

General info and facts on Indian Premier League

ipl facts

In a cricket crazy country like India Indian Premier league is nothing less than a religious festival. Almost 2 months of celebration and the whole country immerses in the joy of IPL cricket. Indian premier league is an mixture of Bollywood and cricket. After the success of 2007 T20 world cup it was the perfect time to start such a tournament that has grown into many folds in terms of money, talent and fan base. 

The tournament has become so big that it became an ideal to look towards for many other cricketing leagues around the world. However the kind of money that IPL makes is no match to other cricketing leagues. With players playing from almost all the international teams the league is a real fest that displays some of the greatest talents across world. Here are some of the amazing and interesting facts about Indian Premier League.

1. Indian Premier league a cricket tournament in India was started in the year 2008

2. BCCI that is the Board for Cricket Control In India is the governing body of IPL.

3. Rajasthan Royals Won the first IPL trophy. They defeated Chennai Superkings on the 1st June 2008 to become champions.

4. Shane Warne was the captain of the first Winning team.

5. DLF was the title sponsor for the inaugural IPL tournament.

6. Lalit Modi then commissioner of the league is regarded as the founder of the IPL.

7. Indian Cricket League or ICL was started by ZEE which was not recognised by BBCI and later the IPL was started.

8. IPL uses the T20 or the twenty twenty cricket format which consists of 20 overs in each innings.

9. Total 8 teams played during the first year's tournament.

10. Maximum of 4 foreign players are allowed to play from a team in a match.

11. IPL was played in south Africa during the 2009 year due to security concerns and later in the year 2014 also some matches (20 matches) were played in the UAE due to lok sabha elections in India.

12. Orange cap is awarded to a player to scores most number of runs in a season.

13. Purple cap is awarded to a player to takes most number of Wickets in a season.

14. Sony had the rights of IPL broadcasting in India.

15. Star won the broadcasting rights in the year 2017.

16. Indian players under BCCI are not allowed to play in any other leagues outside of India as per rules set up by BCCI.

17. Mumbai Indians Have won the title most number of times. They won the third title in the year 2017.

18. Suresh Raina is the highest run scorer till today with more than 4000 runs.

19. Lasith Malinga is the highest wicket taker till today with more than 150 wickets.

20. It was on On 13 September 2007 the foundation of IPL was laid. It was on this date that the BCCI declared about starting of the T20 tournament for the first time.

21. Chris Gayle scored a mammoth 175 runs in a single innings against Pune warriors India in match played in Bangalore.

22. Two afghan players made their debut in IPL during the 2017 season.

23. The only test playing nations players who are not part of the league is Pakistan. Pakistan Players are not allowed to play in IPL

24. Kerala's fast bowler "S Sreesant" along with few other players were banned from playing cricket in India due to spot fixing during IPL matches in the year 2013

25. Teams Chennai Super kings and Rajasthan Royal were also suspended for 2 years in the year 2015 due to alleged wrong doings.

26. The first ever match of IPL was played on 18th April 2008. The match was played in Bangalore's chinnaswasmi stadium.

No comments:

Post a Comment