Amazing Facts About Presidents Of India - FaqLabs

Wednesday, 27 September 2017

Amazing Facts About Presidents Of India

1. Rajendra Prasad was the first president of Independent India. He was elected as the President in the year 1952 and remained in office till 1962.

2. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan was the first Vice president of India. He was elected as vice president on the 26th January 1952 till 1962.

3. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan became the second president of India on 14 May 1962.

4. A full term of President of India consists of 5 Years.

5. Ram Nath Kovind is the current President of India. He was elected as the 14th President of India on 25th July 2017.

6. Till 2017 there have been 14 Presidents Of India. Ram Nath kovind was the 14th President Of India

7. Ram Nath Govind was a lawyer who practised the law for almost 16 years in delhi high court and supreme court before joining politics. He remained member of parliament from 1994 till 2006 in Rajya Sabha.

8. Ram Nath Govind was governor of State "Bihar" before becoming president of India.

9. President of India is elected by the Electoral College which comprises of Member of Parliament from both houses and the legislative assemblies of states as well as territories.

10. President Of India resides in a place or house known Rashtrapathi Bhavan which is located at Raisini Hill in New Delhi.

11. President of India receives a monthly salary of around 1,50,000 Rupees.

12. President appoints The Prime Minister Of India (Which is obviously the leader of the party that has majority or the coalition). President also appoints 12 members of Rajya Sabha who have special knowledge  or experience. He also appoints governors of State, Chief Justice Of supreme and high courts,Attorney General, Chief Election commission etc.

13. President of India is the supreme commander of Indian Armed Forces.

14. President can pardon few cases like the punishment is of death or by military court or is against the union law.

15. President can declare three different kinds of emergencies. State emergency, Financial emergency or the National Emergency.

16. A person need to be a citizen of India, above 35 years of age and should be qualified to be an member of Lok sabha.

17. V.V.Giri became the first acting president after the death of Zakir Husain in the year 1969

18. Pratibha Patil was the first and only women to become the president of India. She was elected and assumed to office in 25th July 2007

19. Total four presidents have till now received bharat Ratna awards. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, Rajendra Prasad, Zakir Husain and APJ Abdul Kalam are the four presidents who received bharat ratna awards.

No comments:

Post a Comment